Summer Formal Dressing!

So, this weekend I went for a meal at the Orsett Hall in Essex, and was reminiscing about the time I was last there, almost five years ago- my school prom! It occurred to me that it was about this time several years ago that I was concerning myself partially with exams, and partially with what I was going to wear!

Proms are everywhere in Summer, and whether it’s your leavers ball from school, your end of year formal meal at University or a work function, the pressure to look good can be enormous. This blog post by Laura at Boudi however gives some great hints and tips- you can check it out here.

The high street offers some great choices, but I thought I’d have a look at the prom dress shops available in Cardiff, and pick a favourite dress from each. Here’s my run down of the top 3 places to go in the capital:

1) Pussy Galore Cardiff – there’s a huge selection and a great sale on at the moment.

/_images/product/fu/ful/0015_a.jpg

This is on sale at Pussy Galore right now! This dress would look stunning with a tan- just make sure if you use the fake stuff that you test it before the big day, or get a friend to help.

2) City Prom  – loads of stockists so you can really find the right designer for you.

My personal favourite was the Mori Lee collection by Madeline Gardner. This is so summery and gorgeous.

3) Luxor – classy gowns with a good array of sizes.

This black and white effect is simply stunning.

A few final tips:

  • looking online is great way to find inspiration, but go in store to make sure it fits well and is exactly what you want. Have fun and pretend you’re in a Sex and the City style montage.
  • if you want to make a statement with colour or style- go for it! This is one occasion you can really be bold
  • keep accessories to a minimum if you’re going for a sparkly number. The Christmas tree look isn’t in this season (or ever…?).
  • The weather in Wales, and UK in general, is very changeable, so a shawl or scarf can be draped elegantly over the elbows if it’s nice and wrapped over the shoulders if cold. Also very useful if there’s rain.
  • A simple pair of stud earrings and a chain necklace add a classy touch.

Proms are amazing fun and they are the perfect way end a hard school or university year. Here’s a picture of me and my friends from our first summer ball at Cardiff University (I was quite the fan of massive hair back then it seems):

prom

I hope you have as much fun as we did!

Sarah xx

About fashiondragoncardiff

These 4 fashionistas are on a campaign to inspire fashion lovers everywhere; with there different eclectic styles each member brings their own spin on all things fashion.. Check em out!!! X
This entry was posted in Cardiff Shopping Retreat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment